A picturesque town nestled in the heart of the Finger Lakes region. Rich in history and natural beauty, Milo offers a vibrant community, friendly neighbors, and endless opportunities for outdoor adventures. Explore our charming town, where tradition meets tranquility, and experience the warmth of Milo hospitality.
The region was within the realm of the Seneca tribe before Europeans entered the area.
Settlement began around 1788 by members of the Universal Friends, a religious sect. In 1818, the town was founded from part of the Town of Benton, while still part of Ontario County. By 1820, the population was about 1,612. When Yates county was formed in 1823, Milo became part of the new county.
In 1833, the Village of Penn Yan was incorporated, setting itself apart from the town.
The Crooked Lake Canal ran partly across the northern part of Milo when it opened in 1833. Around 1877, the canal ceased to function and its lands were taken over by railroads.
The Jonathan Bailey House, Miles Raplee House, and William Swarthout Farm are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.